Home Economics Department


Ms D McSorley    Head of Department

Mrs A Bittle

Miss R  Jenkinson

Technical Support

Mrs L Smith



Key Stage 3

All pupils in Key Stage 3 study Home Economics. It is one of the strands of Learning for Life and Work and is based on the following key themes:

  • Health eating – pupils develop their knowledge, understanding and practical skills required for healthy living. They develop their knowledge of how to plan, prepare, serve and store food safely.
  • Home and Family Life – pupils develop their understanding of the importance of the family as a caring unit.
  • Independent Living – pupils learn how to manage resources and understand the importance of being discerning consumers.

In Years 8-10 pupils complete a range of units which are designed to be challenging and enjoyable. Practical activities are linked to each unit of work to help pupils develop life skills such as thinking skills, team work and cooking skills.

Practical Activities                                                                                                                                                    

Practical activities include; Smoothie, Soda Bread, Truffles, Apple Crumble,
Healthy Burger, Sweet Chilli Vegetable Stir Fry with Noodles, Apple Tart, Scones and Lasagne.

Key Stage 4             

The subject encourages pupils to think critically, make a reasoned choice and manage change. The (CCEA) revised GCSE specification for Home Economics is divided into 3 manageable units.               

Unit 1: Diet and Health and Consumer Awareness 40% pupils get the opportunity to demonstrate the knowledge, understanding and skills necessary for providing healthy diets for family members throughout life.

Unit 2: Diet and Health Controlled Assessment Task 40% -pupils get the opportunity to apply knowledge, understanding and skills as discerning and effective mangers of resources.

Unit 3: Consumer Awareness Controlled Assessment Task 20%


CIEH Level 2 Award In Healthier Food And Special Diets

The pupils also have the opportunity to complete the CIEH Level 2 Award In Healthier Food And Special Diets during Year 12. The benefits of a healthy and varied diet are indisputable. This qualification has been designed to provide a good, basic understanding of nutrition.



GCSE Child Development                          

The GCSE Child Development course aims to encourage an understanding of pregnancy, the responsibilities of being a parent and the overall needs of young children and emphasises the importance of a healthy lifestyle. The (CCEA) revised GCSE specification Child Development is divided into 4 units:

Unit 1 Parenthood,Pregnancy and Childbirth 20% pupils will study the following areas:

  • Pregnancy
  • Healthy diet and lifestyle in pregnancy
  • Birth

Unit 2 Child Development 20%pupils will study the following areas:

  • The newborn baby
  • Physical development of the child up to five years old
  • Intellectual development of the child up to five years old
  • The social and emotional development of a child up to five years
  • Child care provision and sources of support available
  • Safety, first aid and childhood diseases
  • Choosing clothes and shoes for young children
  • Weaning and dietary needs of the child.

Units 3 & 4           Controlled Assessment Tasks 60% – one is an investigative task and the other a short task.

 The pupils have the opportunity to bring home the Virtual Baby for a night       

GCE Health And Social Care Single Award

The pupils complete 3 units in Year 13 and 3 units in Year 14 (Edexcel). The pupils also complete a work placement during Year 13 in a health and social care setting .

In Year 13 the pupils complete their AS qualification, comprising two portfolio assessments and one external exam. In Year 14 pupils can progress to A2 level, where they complete one external exam and two portfolio assessments.




Year 13

Unit 1: Human Growth And Development External examination
Unit 2: Communication And Values Portfolio
Unit 3: Positive Care Environments Portfolio



Year 14

Unit 7: Meeting Individual Needs External examination
Unit 8 : Promoting Health And Well-being Portfolio
Unit 9 : Investigating Disease Portfolio


Enrichment Course

The Home Economics Department offers an Enrichment class in Survival Cookery in Sixth Form to Year 13 pupils.  This course highlights the skills needed to survive in the kitchen as a student or to cook for pleasure.